The Freeman Family's association with the St. James Restaurant started in 1948 when Bill and Evelyn Freeman purchased the St. James Hotel.
Jonathan James, a Pennsylvania farmer who moved to Indiana in 1860, built the St. James Hotel in 1878. By 1948 the once proud Hotel had turned into a deteriorating run down tavern until its purchase by the Freemans.
Over the years the St. James has continued to grow and expand. In 1979 a new dining room was added and in 1983 the second story that once housed the hotel rooms was remodeled into a lounge and banquet room. A new bar was built in 1991, as well as other remodeling.
The Freeman Family is still carrying on the tradition through Bill, Tom, Bob and his wife Beth, and grandson Todd.
Over the years the St. James Restaurant has received several awards such as the Oldest Restaurant in Northern Indiana by the Indiana Restaurant Association, the Centennial Business Award by the Indiana Historical Society, selected Best Restaurant in 4 County Area for American Cuisine, and voted by Readers of News-Sun in 4 County Area for Best Steaks, Best Chicken and Best Soups.
The Freeman Family invites you to experience their history of serving fine food and tradition.